Marriage License: SC and NC

license getting

Nearby N.C. License offices:

•  Brunswick County Register of Deeds (near Sunset, Ocean Isle, Shallotte, Calabash, Holden, Oak Island, Southport, Supply, St James)
WEBSITE
75 Courthouse Dr
Bolivia NC 28422
910-253-2690

•  New Hanover County Register of Deeds (near Wilmington, Wrightsville, Carolina, Kure, Ft Fisher, Figure 8, Leland)
WEBSITE
216 N 2nd St
Wilmington NC 28401
PH: 910-798-7758

•  Onslow County Register of Deeds (near Jacksonville, North Topsail, Sneads Ferry)
WEBSITE
109 Old Bridge St
Jacksonville NC 28540
PH: 910-347-3451
FX: 910-347-3340

•  Pender County Register of Deeds (near Topsail, Surf City)
WEBSITE
Howard Holly Building
300 E. Fremont St
Burgaw NC 28425
PH: 910-259-1225
FX: 910-259-1299

•  Carteret County Register of Deeds (near Atlantic, Bogue, Emerald Isle, Indian, Morehead, Salter Path, Pine Knoll, Beaufort)
WEBSITE
302 Courthouse Sq
Beaufort NC 28516
PH: 252-728-8474

IMPORTANT INFO FOR N.C.

  • BY LAW, YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE PAPERS MUST BE PHYSICALLY AT THE CEREMONY.
  • You must get an NC marriage license to get married in North Carolina (NOT from your home state).
  • An NC licenses from any NC county can be used in all other NC counties too.
  • IF you live inside NC, get license at your local Register of Deeds, and bring it with you to ceremony.
  • Within 60 (or less) days prior to your wedding date, both of you MUST go in-person to an NC Register of Deeds to buy a license BEFORE ceremony, both must be be age 18 or older.
  • No blood test, no medical exam needed.
  • You will need 2 adult witnesses at ceremony (Beachpeople Weddings supplies free witnesses–even for last minute!)
  • You must each bring 2 IDs (call ahead to find out which ones) pay $60 cash, swear in, fill out paperwork. They will give you 2 pages (plus instructions) on the spot.
  • Register of Deeds hours are usually Mondays-Fridays 8am – 4pm, closed holidays, so call your intended Office now, to check their hours and which IDs they specifically want! SEE PHONES IN COASTAL N.C. OFFICES LIST, ABOVE.
  • If divorced within last 60 days, Registrar MIGHT request to see a copy of divorce decree.
  • Give the 2 licenses papers and envelope to Officiant BEFORE ceremony starts.
  • Then the Officiant will mail (file) the papers back to the issuing Registrar of Deeds within 10 days from ceremony. IF you want to file it yourselves, ask us first–there is a $200 penalty on us if you miss 10-days deadline. 
  • After ceremony, you order an official, certified copy of your license from the issuing Registrar for $10/copy (not from Officiant).

Nearby S.C. License offices: 

•  Horry County-Conway Probate Office (Myrtle, North Myrtle, Little River, Cherry Grove, Longs)
WEBSITE
1301 Second Ave
Conway SC 29526
(843) 915-5370

•  Horry County-South Strand  Probate Office (near Myrtle/Springmaid, State Park, Surfside Beach, Garden City, Litchfield)
WEBSITE
9630 Scipio Lane
Myrtle Beach SC 29588
(843) 915-5371

•  Georgetown County Probate Office (near Pawley’s, Georgetown, Murrell’s Inlet)
WEBSITE
Georgetown Courthouse
401 Cleland St, first floor, Room 140
Georgetown SC 29440
(843) 545-3274 or (843) 545-3079

IMPORTANT INFO FOR S.C.

  • BY LAW, YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE PAPERS MUST BE PHYSICALLY AT THE CEREMONY.
  • You must get an SC marriage license to get married in South Carolina (NOT from your home state).
  • An SC license from any SC county can be used in all other SC counties, plus it never expires!
  • IF you live inside SC, get license at your local Probate Office, and bring it with you to ceremony.
  • Both of you MUST go in-person to Probate Office to get license BEFORE ceremony AND be age 18 or older AND…
  • You are REQUIRED to do these things:
    • go to Probate Office AT LEAST 24+ hours prior to your wedding date on a Mon-Fri only, AND…
    • bring your ORIGINAL Social Security Card or a Green Card, plus legal proof of your age, pay a fee, swear in, fill out paperwork, AND…
    • then do a WAIT PERIOD for minimum of 24-hours (so you make 2 trips, on Mondays-Fridays only, to that Probate office, so plan accordingly). No exceptions.  For example for a weekend wedding, you both arrive inside a Probate office no later than Thursday by 4pm and returning to them on Friday afternoon at 4pm.
  • They give you your 3 license papers to take to ceremony on second visit.
  • Probate Office hours are usually Mondays-Fridays 8am – 4:30m, closed holidays, so call your intended Probate Office now, to check their hours and which IDs they specifically want from you! SEE PHONES IN COASTAL S.C. OFFICES LIST, ABOVE.
  • No witnesses needed, no blood test, no medical exam needed.
  • If divorced within last 60 days, Officer MIGHT request to see a copy of divorce decree.
  • Cash or money order only. No plastic.
  • FEES Horry County: county residents = $50, other SC residents = $75, out-of-state = $100.
  • FEE Georgetown County: everyone = $40.
  • FEE other SC Counties: prices vary and are usually lower, please call ahead.
  • Give the 3 licenses papers & envelope to Officiant BEFORE ceremony starts.
  • Then the Officiant will hand you 1 signed copy right after ceremony, plus Officiant mails (files) the other 2 pages back to the issuing Probate Office within 20 days from ceremony. IF you want to file it yourselves, ask us first–there is a $200 penalty on us if you miss 20-days deadline. 
  • After ceremony, you order an official, certified copy of your license from the issuing Probate office for $5/copy (not from Officiant).
Well you just found another Warm Fuzzy!
Do ya like this one?

“This is a marriage of equals. I belong only to myself, but while we both wish it, I give you that which is mine to give.  I am a free person, but I shall serve you in the ways of our marriage, making the honeycomb taste sweeter coming from my hand. I pledge to you the first bite of my food and the first drink from my cup.  I pledge that yours is the name I shall take as my husband/wife, and yours are the eyes into which I smile in the morning and kiss closed again at night.  I pledge to be a mighty shield for your back and to trust you for mine.  I shall always honor you above all others. And when we quarrel, I promise to do so in private so your heart is always safe with me. These are my wedding vows to you.” Click HERE to see more.